How Much Does Our Pedal Power Save?

gas-mileage.jpgEver since I took that lovely stroll to the local market, I’ve been wondering if I should do this more often. The only thing that kept me from doing it was the fact that I would have too many groceries to carry back home at one time. Also, lazy as it may seem, I didn’t want to carry them! Then, I saw a wire cart for $19.99 at Walgreens to carry my groceries and the idea just sort of solidified. I thought: “How much gas does it cost to go from my driveway to the store and back versus using this $19.99 carrier?” Then, I thought about how nice it would be to get that exercise in too, especially around spring time. If someone wanted to do this instead of a gym membership, it would probably save them a lot of money too.

They Laughed at Me at the Auto Shop

When they were fixing my car, they asked me if the car got good gas mileage. I said that it used to but that now the car seemed to take a whole lot more gas. They said:”Well, what kind of mileage are you getting?” And, I had to admit, I didn’t know. I used to know, but recently I was going by how much money I was putting in the tank. That’s when they reminded me that gas had risen in cost to three to four times what it was a few years ago and that this wasn’t sufficient to tell whether I had the same miles per gallon or not! Of course, that seems obvious now. So, I really don’t know what mileage I am getting, but I’m going to find out. At $4/gallon this summer, I’d only have to save five gallons to pay for the wire cart with the pretty wheels and large area for multiple bags. In the meantime, check out how to calculate your gas mileage here. That’s the process I will have to follow to figure out how much it actually costs in miles per gallon to go to the local store and back. I bet the answer is going to surprise me.

*Image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons by redgoober4life

Leave a Reply

