Comfort Food for the Body, the Soul, and the Wallet

mac-and-cheese.jpgI don’t know what got into me today. I just had to have some macaroni and cheese. Typically, that is not my cup of tea. I prefer more ethnic fare, but today was a comfort food grocery trip. For me, that means buying all sorts of cheap, unprepared, food ingredients and taking them home and cooking up a storm.

Today was mac n’ cheese and mole. Mole is a Mexican dish of chicken with a chocolate sauce. If you’ve been brought up on the stuff, it’s heavenly. If you haven’t it may be an acquired taste. It’s definitely comfort food in the Mexican tradition. It goes good with mac n’ cheese too. So, out came all the pans and skillets and the whole cut-up chicken that was on sale for $3 because it was getting close to the expiration date. I just love coming in and finding deals like this! It means I get to do a batch of comfort food and put it away for later. By the way, mole freezes well too (at the least the way I make it).

So, there I go on my little trip and they are having a giant BOGO (Buy One, Get One Free) sale that I managed to catch on the second day. Of course, I figured that once I got there all the BOGO items would be gone because if you don’t get there early, they usually are gone. Being a weekday, however, I lucked out. BOGO heaven! These were items I normally buy like toilet paper and meat. Comfort was really top of my mind today, I guess. I estimate the food choices I made will last me two or three weeks, which mean I got a steal and a half but I only used my normal weekly budget to buy it all.

Then I got to wondering if comfort food is so named because it is so inexpensive to prepare and that’s why people associate it with home. It can be comforting for your body, your soul, and your wallet! If wealth is a state of mind, a stomach full of comfort food is probably one way to feel wealthy even when you are cash-poor. As odd as it may be, my daughter considers Ramen noodles comfort food. That’s definitely not one of my choices, but she loves the stuff. So, now I have the following comfort foods planned for the next couple of weeks:

  • Macaroni and cheese
  • Mole
  • Rice and beans
  • Lentils
  • Turkey burgers
  • Meatloaf (from turkey because I don’t like beef)
  • Mashed potatoes
  • French fries
  • Spanish rice with peas and corn
  • Banana pudding
  • Lemon bars
  • Pancakes
  • Muffins
  • Lima bean soup
  • Rice pudding
  • Tamales
  • Tortillas or gorditas
  • Lasagna
  • Hot chocolate
  • Hot tea
  • Hot coffee

Okay, so it’s not for people on a diet, but I know I’m looking forward to it…

*Image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons by ninjapoodles

Leave a Reply

